Synagogue of Mátészalka,

Synagogue of MateszalkaSynagogue of MateszalkaSynagogue of Mateszalka

Synagogue of Mátészalka, Kossuth tér 37

It is possible to visit the Synagogue, to get the key go the the office of the Satmar region museum a little further down on the other side on the same street:

Szatmári Múzeum ‎

Kossuth Street 5,
4700 Mátészalka Hungary
Tel: 06 44 502-646

Why JarmiPapos.org?

In making this trip to Hungary, my goal was not to make tourism and for good reason that you will read below, but to visit my family who unfortunately now, can only be found in cemeteries. Apart from a few who survived the Holocaust and immigrated to North America after the war of 39/45 and a few others who have benefited from the 1956 Revolution to leave the country, the only family members who remain Hungary are now in cemeteries. Before embarking on my trip, I did a little research on the web on the Hungarian Jewish community, or at least what remains of it, I have, among others, learned that there was a Jewish organization http://www.mazsit.org/ which handles maintenance of Jewish cemeteries in Hungary. I understand that this organization has certainly not all the financial means that it would hope, and I did not expect to find a full time cemetery gardener who would spend all his time constantly cutting the grass or cleaning the graves but I thought to find something fairly decent. Disillusion quickly caught me, the first cemetery I've visited the one of Papos where my great-grandfather is buried, this cemetery has left me in a state of very low moral distress, the cemetery is in a state of total abandonment, the majority of the graves are covered with grass and shrubs. There is no fence, the cemetery is in the middle of a cultivated field. Examining the municipal street plan in the middle of the village, one might think that there is a street that borders the cemetery, but in reality it is simply a trail for bullock carts that must be followed for about 300 meters to go to the cemetery. At the end of the street "Jozseph A utca", and the intersection of so-called street "Mikszáth Utca" one cannot see anything, and there is no way to know or believe that there is a Jewish cemetery there in the middle of the field, all that we see is a field and a small square moderately wooded fallow in the distance is actually the cemetery.
Especially when lighting candles for Shabbat, my mother did not go a week without tears and crying her mother, brother, sister, nieces and nephews, uncles, aunts, brothers-in law, sisters in law, entire families, more than 70 people exterminated during the Holocaust, she had sworn never to set foot in this country who had seen her born and were a large part of the population had worked proactively for the extermination of her family.

 

Why the Mateszalka region ?

Are your ancestors coming from this region ? Mine yes. My maternal grandfather Menachem Meir Goldberger was born in Nitra, Slovakia in the early 1800s, he moved very young in the Mateszalka region. All members of my paternal and maternal family are from the department of Szabolcs-Szatmár-Bereg
My father Samuel (Chayè) Silber was born in Nyirmada my mother Rosalie/Regee (Raïz'l) Goldberger in Jarmi. My paternal great grandfather Itschok Ïisick Zilber was born in Papos he died in Papos and he rest in peace in the Papos Jewish cemetery. My paternal great grandmother Esther Faigi Nokli was born in Ópályi and she rest in peace in the Jarmi Jewish cemetery. My maternal grandfather Karoli (Haïm Yékoussiél) Goldberger rest in peace in the Mateszalka Jewish cemetery. My maternal grandmother, Rivki (Silber) Goldberger (my father and my mother were first cousin) was born in Papos........has unfortunately been put on the train to Auschwitz by the Hungarian Nazi militia were among them could be found some of her own close Hungarian friends from the village of Jarmi and Matszalka, ............They said they were following orders........she nerver came back, may her soul rest in peace. My paternal grandfather Yossef Youdo Silber was born in Ópályi. My two paternal grandparents Devora (Blau) Silber and Yossef Youdo Silber may their souls rest in peace, are supposed to be buried in Oradea/Nagyvarad, but unfortunatly in May 2012 when I was in Romania, I could'nt find their tombs in both Jewish cemeteries, the Orthodox and the Neolog, located in the huge municipal Rulikowski cemetery in Oradea/Nagyvarad, Roumania.
I must return to Oradea/Nagyvarad because just before leaving, while talking to a person in charge of the community office, I've learned that there was another Jewish cemetery located in the subburbs, but for this one, unlike for the other two cemeteries, there is no book with the name of the poeple buried there. If you have information about this cemetery, please get in touch with me @:Contact Email

We need your help.

Papos: The Papos Jewish cemetery is in a total state of abandonment and it is by pure chance that I was able to find the grave of my great-grandfather Itschok Ïisick Zilber. I was lucky that the tomb was located on the corner just off the trail leading to the cemetery. Although the location of the cemetery is shown on the municipal plan located in the middle of the main street of Papos It still took the help of a local to find it. Indeed arriving at the end of the road shown on the plan, all you see at far is a large field with a wooded area. I parked the car at the end of the street and the person led me to the end of the path just traced in the field before the cemetery. Arriving at the height of the cemetery, you can see quite a few graves here and there, but the vast majority of the graves are overgrown and hidden by nature.

 Mateszalka: The cemetery is half empty, more or less maintained and it must be said quickly, during my visit, many plots were invaded by deep grass up to to my knees. Maybe if we were providing a propelled lawn mower it would increase the frequency of the grass cutting. All people for whom the land had been saved for, have unfortunately taken the path of Auschwitz and since today there are virtually no Jews in Mateszalka, the empty plots will remain so for long.

The cemetery keeper is a nice guy but ........ maintenance could be a little more frequent. Perhaps, before starting a cut, he expects that the grass is taller enough to sell it as food for cattle. As compensation for its maintenance work, he has been gave the right to use the large parcel of empty land for its own account, and probably one should not also forget the generous tip he must get from families visiting the cemetery.
My cousin Allan Scop, antiquarian in Brooklyn NY, specializing in Judaica items told me that the registery book with the name and date of people buried in the Mateszalka area is in the hands of a speculator living in Israel and this book has already been put to auction to the highest bidder, the starting price was around $ 25,000.
I do not understand how someone was able to capture a document of general interest belonging to the whole community. It would be good to buy it back, or to recover through the judicial system and then deliver it to a public agency. In this way the document could be available to all.

Ópályi  As my great grandmother and other family members were born in the nearby village of Ópályi close to Mateszalka, I decided to go there for a ride. Arriving in the middle of the village I saw a sign in the shape of an arrow on a telephone pole saying "Jewish cemetery" in Hungarian "Zsido temető" I stopped the car to go visit the cemetery. The cemetery is just up the slope along the road. There is a separation of about 50 meters and after you can see the Catholic cemetery there. The cemetery looks better maintained, it seems that they cut the grass from time to time but the graves would need a little maintenance. On some graves I looked, I have not found familiar names.

Nyírmeggyes  My maternal great-grandfather Meir Menachem Goldberger, is supposed to be buried in Nyirmeggyes, but I have not visited this cemetery, it is planed on my roadmap during my next visit to the region.

 

In a small perimeter around Mateszalka, there are at least 5 or 6 small villages Jewish cemeteries. They are distant from each other for only a few kilometers, which shows that the Jews were well integrated in their respective villages. These cemeteries are half empty, unfortunately in 1944 the Hongarian Nazi militia under the leadership of the German Nazis, had other plans for the future of the Jewish population "Imach shemome". 

How to help ? click here.......

Contact Email ...Tel:1-514-418-6781


Back to top

Synagogue of Mateszalka
Synagogue of Mateszalka
TSynagogue of Mateszlkae.

Synagogue de Mateszalka

Synagogue de  MateszalkaSynagogue de MateszalkaSynagogue de Mateszalka

Synagogue de Mateszalka
Kossuth tér 37

Il est possible de visiter la Synagogue, chercher la clé au musé de la région de Satmar un peu plus loin en face dans la même rue:

Szatmári Múzeum ‎
Kossuth Street 5,
4700 Mátészalka Hungary
Tel: 06 44 502-646

Pourquoi JarmiPapos.org ?

En faisant ce voyage en Hongrie, mon objectif premier n'était pas d'y faire du tourisme, et pour cause vous lirez plus bas pourquoi, mais d'aller visiter ma famille qui malheureusement aujourd'hui ne se trouve que dans les cimetières. A part quelques uns qui ont survécus la Shoah et ont immigré en Amérique du nord de suite après la guerre de 39/45 et quelques autres qui ont profité de la révolution de 1956 pour sortir du pays, les seuls membres de ma famille qui restent en Hongrie se trouvent aujourd'hui dans les cimetières.  Avant d'entreprendre mon voyage j'ai fait une petite recherche sur le WEB sur la communauté Juive Hongroise ou du moins ce qu'il en reste, j'y ai, entre autre, appris qu'il y avait une organisation juive http://www.mazsit.org/ qui s'occupe de l'entretien des cimetières Juifs en Hongrie. Je comprends que cette organisation n'a certainement pas les moyens financiers qu'elle espérerait avoir et je ne m'attendais pas à trouver dans chaque cimetière un jardinier à temps plein qui passerait tout son temps à constamment couper l'herbe ou nettoyer les tombes, mais je pensais trouver quelque chose de moyennement décent.  La désillusion m'a vite rattrapé au premier cimetière visité, celui de Papos où est enterré mon arrière grand-père, ce cimetière m'a laissé dans un état de détresse morale très bas, le cimetière est dans un état d'abandon total, la majorité des tombes sont recouvertes par l'herbe et par des arbustes. Il n'y a pas de clôture, le cimetière se trouve au milieu d'un champ cultivé. En examinant le plan municipal situé au milieu du village, on pourrait penser qu'il y a une rue qui borde le cimetière, mais en réalité ce n'est qu'un simple tracé de charrettes à bœufs qu'il faut suivre sur environ 300 mètres pour se rendre au cimetière. Du bout de la rue "Jozseph A utca", et de l'intersection de la soi-disante rue "Mikszath Utca" on ne voit rien, et rien ne laisse savoir ou penser qu'il y a un cimetière juif là-bas au milieu du champ, tout ce que l'on voit c'est un champ et un petit carré en friche moyennement boisé au loin qui en réalité est le cimetière.
Surtout au moment de l'allumage des bougies de Chabbat, ma mère ne passait pas une semaine sans verser des larmes et pleurer sa mère, son frère, sa sœur de nombreux neveux et nièces, des oncles des tantes, des beaux frères, des belles sœurs, des familles entières, plus de 70 personnes exterminées durant la Shoah, elle s'était jurée de ne plus jamais remettre les pieds dans ce pays qui l'avait vu naitre et dont une grande partie de la population avait collaboré de façon proactive à l'extermination de sa famille.

Pourquoi la région de Mateszalka?

Vos ancêtres viennent-ils de cette région ? Les miens oui. Mon arrière grand père maternel Menahem Meir Goldberger est né à Nitra en Slovakie, au début des années 1800, il a imigré très jeune dans la région de Mateszalka. Tous les membres de ma famille tant paternelle que maternelle sont tous originaire du departement de Szabolcs-Szatmár-Bereg
Mon père Samuel (Chayè) Silber est né à Nyirmada et ma mère Rosalie (Raïz'l) Goldberger à Jarmi. Mon arrière grand-père paternel Itschok Ïisick Zilber est né à Papos décédé à Papos et enterré dans le cimetière Juif de Papos, Mon arrière grand mère paternelle Esther Faigi Nokli est née a Ópályi et entérrée dans le cimetière Juif de Jarmi. Mon grand-père maternel Karoli (Haïm Yékoussiél) Goldberger est enterré dans le cimetière Juif de Mateszalka. Ma grand-mère maternelle Rivki Silber (mon père et ma mère sont cousins germains) est née à Papos......elle,.....a malheureusement été mise sur le train à destination d'Auschwitz par les milices Hongroises parmi lesquels on pouvait retrouver quelques uns de ses propres amis Hongrois du village de Jarmi ou Matszalka, elle n'en est jamais revenue, D. ait son âme. Mon grand-père paternel est né à Ópályi, Mes deux grand parents paternels Devora Blau et Yossef Youdo Silber sont, enterrés á Oradea/Nagyvarad, mais malheureusement, lors de mon passage en Roumanie en Mai 2012, je n'ai pas pu trouver leurs tombes dans les cimetières Juifs se trouvant á l'intérieur du très grand cimetière municipal Rulikowski d'Oradea/Nagyvarad,Roumanie. Je dois retourner á Oradea/Nagyvarad car le dernier jour juste avant de partir, en parlant avec un responsable de la communauté, j'ai appris qu'il y avait un autre cimetière un peu en dehors de la ville, mais que pour celui là, contrairement au deux autres, il n'avait pas de registre avec les noms des personnes enterrées à cet endroit. Si vous avez des informations à ce sujet, SVP contactez moi @Contact Email

Nous avons besoin de votre aide.

Papos: Le cimetière Juif de Papos est dans un état d'abandon total et c'est par pure chance que j'ai pu y retrouver la tombe de mon arrière grand-père Itschok Ïisick Zilber. J'ai eu la chance que la tombe se trouve sur le coin juste en bordure du chemin qui mène au cimetière. Même si l'emplacement du cimetière est bien indiqué sur le plan municipal se trouvant vers le milieu de la rue principale de Papos, il m'a quand même fallu l'aide d'un habitant pour le trouver. En effet en arrivant au bout de la rue indiquée sur le plan, tout ce que l'on voit c'est un grand champ avec un petit boisé au loin. J'ai stationné la voiture au bout de la rue et l'habitant m'a conduit jusqu'au bout du chemin à peine tracé dans le champ ou se trouve le cimetière. En arrivant à la hauteur du cimetière, on aperçoit bien quelques tombes ici et là, mais la très grande majorité des tombes sont envahies et cachées par la nature

Mateszalka Le cimetière est à moitié vide, plus ou moins entretenu et il faut le dire vite, lors de mon passage, de nombreuses parcelles au fond étaient envahies par l'herbe qui m'arrivait aux genoux. Peut-être que si ont fournissait une tondeuse à gazon automotrice, cela augmenterait la fréquence du passage de la tondeuse. Tous les gens pour qui ce terrain avait été prévu á l'origine, ont malheureusement pris le chemin d'Auschwitz et comme aujourd'hui il n'y a pratiquement plus de Juifs à Mateszalka, les places vides vont le rester encore pour longtemps. Le gardien est bien gentil mais........l'entretien pourrait être un peu plus fréquent. Peut-être, qu'avant de la couper, il attend que l'herbe soit assez haute pour la vendre comme fourrage à bestiaux.
En compensation pour son travail d'entretien, on lui a donné le droit d'usage de la grande parcelle de terre pour son propre compte, et probablement il ne faut pas aussi oublier les généreux pourboires qu'il doit recvoir des familles qui viennent visiter le cimetière. Mon cousin Allan Scop antiquaire à Brooklyn NY, spécialisé dans les articles Judaïques m'a dit que le registre des gens enterrés dans la région de Mateszalka est entre les mains d'un spéculateur demeurant en Israël et que ce livre a déja été mis aux enchères au plus offrant, la mise à prix tournait autour de $25 000.00. Je ne comprend pas comment une personne ait pu s'approprier un document d'intérêt général appartenant à toute la communauté. Il serait bon de le racheter, ou de le recupérer à travers le système judiciaire pour ensuite le remettre à un organisme publique. De cette façon le document pourrait être consulter par tous.

Ópályi  Comme mon arrière grand-mère ainsi que d'autres membres de la famille sont nés dans ce village tout proche de Mateszalka, j'ai décidé d'y allez faire un tour. En arrivant vers le milieu du village j'ai aperçu une enseigne en forme de flèche sur un poteau téléphonique indiquant "cimetière Juif" en Hongrois "zsidó temető" j'ai arrêté la voiture pour aller le visiter. Le cimetière est juste en haut du talus qui longe la route. Il y a une séparation d'environ 50 mètres et après il y a le cimetière catholique. Là, le cimetière a l'air mieux entretenu, il semble que l'on coupe l'herbe de temps en temps mais les tombes auraient besoin d'un petit entretien. Sur les quelques tombes que j'ai regardé, je n'ai pas trouvé de nom familier.

Nyírmeggyes  Mon arrière grand-père maternel Menahem Meïr Goldberger, serait enterré à Nyirmeggyes, mais je n'ai pas visité ce cimetière, il est sur mon plan de route lors de mon prochain séjour dans la région.

Dans un tout petit périmètre autour de Mateszalka, on retrouve au moins 5 ou 6 petits cimetieres Juifs de village. Ils ne sont éloignés l'un de l'autre que de quelques kilomètres, ce qui montre que les Juifs etaient bien intégrés dans leurs villages respectifs. Ces cimetières sont à moitié vide, malheureusement en 1944 les milices Hongroises sous la férule des Nazis "Imach Chemome", ont eu d'autres plans d'avenir pour la population Juive.

Comment aider ? cliquez ici......

Contact Email .....Tel:1-514-418-6781

 

Back to top

Synagogue de Mateszalka
Synagogue de Mateszalka
TSynagogue de Mateszalkae.